The National Main Street Center announced Monday that nine southeast Mississippi cities across the company’s service territory are being designated as accredited Main Street America programs.

The towns – Biloxi, Columbia, Gulfport, Hattiesburg, Laurel, Ocean Springs, Pascagoula, Philadelphia and Picayune – were recognized for their exemplary commitment to preservation-based economic development and community revitalization.

“Receiving National Main Street accreditation is a prestigious designation, and we congratulate each of these communities for this significant achievement,” said Mississippi Power Economic Development Manager Steven Dick, who serves as Mississippi Main Street Association board president this year. “Main Street programs play a strategic role in making Mississippi more competitive by being a catalyst for economic development.”

In addition, Forest, Long Beach, Meridian and Moss Point were recognized among the Main Street America affiliates for the commitment to achieving meaningful improvements in downtowns and commercial districts.

In 2019, Mississippi Main Street’s Designated Communities generated 185 net new businesses, 62 business expansions to existing businesses, 633 net new jobs, 101 building rehabilitations and 331 downtown residential units.

Mississippi Power, a subsidiary of Southern Company (NYSE: SO), produces safe, reliable and environmentally responsible energy for more than 188,000 customers in 23 southeast Mississippi counties. With nearly 160 megawatts of approved solar energy capacity, Mississippi Power is the largest partner in providing renewable energy in the state of Mississippi. Visit our websites at and, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter, Instagram, LinkedIn, and YouTube.